Upcoming

13Feb09

I am going to speak at a class on “very recent fiction” at St. Albans School in Washington, D.C. on Monday, March 2 about The New You Project!  I had a teacher, Ms. (Jennifer) Irwin, at Emerson, also in D.C., where I grew up, who taught a class on contemporary world fiction and we read Toni Morrison’s Beloved and Ben Okri’s The Famished Road and Kenzaburo Oe’s A Personal Matter and it transformed my perspective on everything. Prior to that I had gone to a large public school and it’s certainly not to my credit that I nearly dropped out. So thanks Ms. Irwin, wherever you are, for telling me what I needed to know. I’m happy to pay it forward.

Some of the letters I’ve received have been from former students of Jonathan Baumbach, and I love that. Recently the novelist and writing professor Tayari Jones wrote a piece about remembering your mentors.

— LAUREN CERAND

No Responses Yet to “Upcoming”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

