From Iceland to Iraq

25Jan09

photo-11

The other day at the post office the woman at the window said to me, “Ice. Land. They have this country now?” And I wanted to be like, it’s been around a while, but it’s not like I’ve been there so I replied, “‘Deed they do.” And then later that day I was addressing an envelope to a town in France I hadn’t heard of and so I looked it up on Wikipedia and learned that it’s, “A farming village situated just 4 miles (6.4 km) northeast of the centre of Rouen at the junction of the D47 and the D443 roads.” And that’s when I realized that YOU or The Invention of Memory is really going places! A cursory glance at receipts from the post office reveals destinations including, in no particular order, Paris, London, Toronto, Montreal, New York, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Chicago, Washington D.C., Boston,  Chapel Hill, Pasadena, Alaska, Austin, Las Vegas, Maine, Louisiana, Charleston, Philadelphia, Denver, just to name a few. And yet, we’re halfway through the New You Project and I still have about TWO HUNDRED BOOKS TO GIVE AWAY, PER THE RULES OF THE GAME:

“Here’s how it works: email me (correspondence at laurencerand dot com) between now and February 14 to request a free copy of the book (limited to the first 365 requests) and I will send it to you in the mail. Free. You can read it. You can give it away. You can sell it to the Strand or Powell’s, depending on your coast. Whatever. The point is, this is a book that I believe in. I believe it belongs in the world. I believe it belongs with you.”

Above, a snapshot of me a moment ago with YOU or The Invention of Memory. I have many of them in my apartment, and soon I will have more. I am up to my eyes in YOU (in fact, I wrote a piece for Readerville about how little space I have for books). Have pity on me! It’s a secret much too good to keep, so please feel free to share it. If I were to receive two hundred emails in the next ten minutes, that’d be my high-class problem and I’d welcome it. Warmly.

— LAUREN CERAND

UPDATE: I still have lots of books on hand! In fact, please assume I do until I say that I don’t. Email me (correspondence at laurencerand dot com) to request one.

4 Responses to “From Iceland to Iraq”

  1. 1 JMB

    Your blog is witty,
    Ur authors r g8t,
    Especially Tayari Jones.
    Pls send book U wrote about. I’d luv to read You Invention of Memory and share with GWG writer Group and LK Black Literature Discussion Group.
    Thx much…JMB

  2. 2 Ruth Harris Doyal

    Hey

    Your book sounds interesting as does your PR promo.

    I shall read it if you send it and I will post a review on Goodreads dot com

    Thanks

    Ruth
    160 Valley View Court,
    Tyrone, GA 30290

  3. Thank you for the kind words! Consider YOU en route…

  4. 4 Diane Allen

    I came across this via a Spelman website. As a Spelman grad and an aspiring wirter, I can’t wait to read the book.


Leave a Reply

